Book Chat

TBR List

It’s easy to lose track of a digital collection of books, so from time to time I like to scroll through my overflowing Kindle app and make a list of unread titles to keep me on track. I’m a sucker for a good deal, which leads to a mile-long backlog on my TBR list. Bookbub is always a great source for deals under $2.99, Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Daily Kindle Deals newsletter is a great curated list of daily deals (including audiobooks), and I even wrote a blog posts about other favorite sources for free/cheap books.

The last time I made a TBR list was in May 2016… and some of those eBooks are still unread (*hangs head in shame*). Sometimes there’s just no rhyme or reason when it comes to deciding what to read next… and as always, my life motto applies: too many books, too little time!

 

The Amateur Librarian // To Read List

Categorized in no particular order:

Non-fiction

Dinner: The Playbook, by Jenny Rosenstarch

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Making dinner happen every night is an ongoing challenge, but this looks like a practical guide. I don’t have a picky toddler on my hands, but hubby’s limited palette can be just as much as an obstacle.

Sheet Pan Suppers, by Molly Gilbert

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Seems like a good angle for a quick and easy dinner, right? Now I just have to actually look through and try one out. I could probably just look for one-pan recipes on Pinterest, but at least I haven’t added another heavy cookbook to my (mostly unused) physical collection!

MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend, by Rachel Bertsche

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Found a good deal and couldn’t resist the premise. Making adult friends is hard! I miss the ease of high school and college, when you saw the same people every day and couldn’t help but make friends.

Spark Joy: An Illustrated Master Class on the Art of Organizing and Tidying Up, by Marie Kondo

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

I haven’t read the original, and I hear that “tidy” has been replaced with “cozy” as the newest buzzword, but I still want to find out what all the fuss is about. In fact, this one probably falls into the “book you don’t want to admit you’re dying to read” category of the 2017 MMD Reading Challenge.

Daring Greatly, by Brene Brown

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

I hear soooo much buzz about Brene Brown in the self-help circles and this seems like a good place to start? I’m sure I got it cheap, but I’m not sure when I’ll be in the mood for it.

Big Magic, by Elizabeth Gilbert

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log

This is another one that I heard buzz aplenty when it was released, so much so that I figured it was probably overhyped, but it has to be a sign that so many people love it (even those who passionately dislike Eat, Pray, Love) so I took the plunge when it went on sale. Next time I’m in a creative rut, I plan on turning to this one.

Children’s Lit

When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead

The Amateur Librarian // January 2017 Reading Log

A Newberry winner that combines TV game shows, A Wrinkle in Time, and time travel. I actually started this one but got distracted by a library hold, but it’s next on the list for the Newbery challenge.

The Penderwicks, by Jeanne Birdsall

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

I keep hearing good things about this series, and Modern Mrs. Darcy refers to it as a modern classic for fans of Louisa May Alcott, Noel Streatfeild, and Edward Eager. Sounds right up my alley, and a perfect summer read.

Moon Over Manifest, by Clare Vanderpool

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Another author that I’ve heard is great, and this seems like a good place to start. I don’t know much about it, but I have a habit of collecting Newbery winners when I see them on sale.

Wildwood, by Colin Meloy

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log

I always hear about how beautiful the illustrations in this book is, but I figured that I’d be more likely to read the eBook. It doesn’t hurt that it’s written by the lead singer of the Decemberists (one of my favorite bands in high school) and is compared to the Chronicles of Narnia. Can’t wait to give this one a chance.

Young Adult

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

The Amateur Librarian // March 2016 Reading Log

I still can’t believe that I haven’t finished this book, since I inhaled the first three books (plus the prequel!) in the series, but here we are a year later. I’m about 30% through and really need to make this one a priority!

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log
Confession: once upon a time a good friend recommended Gail Carriger’s YA steampunk books, and I promptly followed the author on social media but never actually read any of her books. That was years ago. So when the first book in her Finishing School series went on sale, I vowed to finally read one… and yet here we are. I just keep adding books to my queue and this series keeps getting pushed to the bottom of the list.

Fiction

The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, by Dorothy L. Sayers

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

I’ve always heard that Dorothy Sayers is a master of the mystery genre, so I have this collection of the first three stories on hand when I’m in the mood for a classic British mystery.

Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

I’ve heard time and again that this books is “un-put-down-able” and still effectively suspenseful despite the 1938 pub date. I need to go ahead and read this one for the MMD 2017 Reading Challenge.

The Historian, by Elizabeth Kostova

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Somehow I have a physical copy on my bookshelf as well as the eBook, and I can’t even remember who was raving about it so much that I bought two versions of it. I always like the sound of a literary historical mystery, so one of these days I’ll get around to it.

The Girl with All the Gifts, by M.R. Carey

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Again, I can’t remember who was raving about this one but I think it was recommended for fans of Station Eleven, and now they’ve made a movie of it, and I still want to read it… but still haven’t.

The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Yikes… another one that I own both the hardcover and eBook versions, and I don’t know why. But the cover is beautiful, I love a good WWII setting, and if those aren’t reasons enough, my BFF Heather also loved this one.

 

Love May Fail, by Matthew Quick

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log

I love Quick’s offbeat characters and how he tackles mental health issues, but I got a bit burned out after too many in a row. I’m hoping that a female protagonist will bring back some of the magic, the next time I’m feeling up to delving into a fragile psyche.

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log
Now that I’ve read The Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin, this has climbed up my list. I don’t trust every author who writes fiction based on real people, especially somewhat recent history, but she does a great job of writing believable dialogue and characters. I’ve never been a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland (I didn’t like magical realism as a kid and still don’t) but the behind-the-scenes story about Lewis Carroll has always been fascinating. And what about the real-life Alice that the stories were based on? Plenty of good reviews on Amazon convinced me to add this historical novel to the list.

Audiobooks

(Modern Mrs. Darcy turned me onto Whispersync, the cheap way to buy an audiobook when you purchase the eBook through Amazon. Finally, affordable audiobooks!)

Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery

The Amateur Librarian // TBR List

Of course I’ve read this one many, many times, but narration by Rachel McAdams sounds like a treat for the next time I’m in a nostalgic mood.

The Selection, by Kiera Cass

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log

Audio is one of my favorite ways to consume YA, and this sounds like a fun summer listen with tons of rave reviews.

The Martian, by Andy Weir

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log

I loved the movie and heard mixed reviews of the book, but my Dad really enjoyed the audio and it sounds like a fun listen. This might even be the perfect hybrid book, to be enjoyed as both an eBook and an audiobook, with an emphasis on plot and mathematical explanations that might feel too dense in a print book. Willing to give it a try!

Longbourn, by Jo Baker

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log

Jane Austen spinoffs can be hit or miss, but the Upstairs Downstairs/Downton Abbey angle is always a fun one. I started listening to this one on my commute last Fall, but I put it down when Amelia came along. It’s a bit slow going, but I’m always looking for more stuff to listen to on my daily walks, so I need to give this one another try.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

The Amateur Librarian // Reading Log

One of those classics I’ve never actually read – but I want to! Especially when I watch one of the modern-day versions like Sherlock or Elementary.
Wow… I didn’t realize the list was so long! I did manage to cross a few off since last May, but not nearly enough to justify how many more I bought… oops! But the act of writing down a list often reminds me to take a closer look at each title, and thinking about what sparked each click to buy is always an interesting exercise… next time I’m tempted I will definitely think of this list waiting for me!
The Amateur Librarian is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
Advertisements

One thought on “TBR List

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.